Blog 1: Where did it go?

My first blog: where did it go?

Anti-social media bit me again.

Let us first make it clear that I am no dummy, having successfully worked with over 200 different software programs in my life to date. Most were INTUITIVE after only the most minor tutorial, and I was working comfortably after about an hour at most.

After putting some 40 hours in on the creation of a Facebook Author Page, which I am told is required by the Gods of Publishing, I accomplished the following:

I inadvertently launched 3 pages that had different friends in each.

I sent out friend requests to people multiple times.

I gave up on the attempt to manage the different security levels for public, friends of friends, friends and only me.

Now after scrapping it and starting over, I have accomplished what I WANTED TO ACHIEVE, instead of what some BRAIN DEAD CODE WRITING DORK thought I should have. My Facebook page has pretty pictures, a bit about me, a bit about the book and everyone is a friend. If Facebook had a Facebook page would they get any LIKES? Enough said.

Armed with only the most rudimentary fundamentals learned in my frustrating venture into social media via Facebook, I endeavored to take on the next step to appeasing the Publishing Gods: blogging.

After a bit of research, I decided that WordPress was the correct avenue for my endeavor despite WARNINGS that while powerful, it could be very complex. I was cocky having recently faced-off with Facebook and won. I had an account set up in no time, picked a style and started writing a heart-felt blog about completing my first book.

ALL MY PREVIOUS TRAINING HAS TAUGHT ME TO SAVE; SAVE; SAVE so I created a draft and saved as I went.

I read the bar at the top of the page that SEEMED TO INDICATE that it would only be published when I confirmed it through my e-mail. Once I finished my editing of this 384 word masterpiece, I decided to add a pretty picture as well. It all seemed simple by comparison to my Facebook experience. In fact there was a certain commonality in the tools and icons that should have raised the hairs on the back of my neck, but unfortunately I missed the warning sign.

Here is what I actually accomplished:

My draft is fracking gone!

The picture is there.

I went home to ponder my next move over some Jack Daniel’s and wrote this rant instead of attempting to regurgitate the lovingly crafted lost blog. When I calm down I will attempt to reassemble those thoughts for you.

I do not think that the BDCWD’s get the KISS acronym. For those not familiar with this STANDARD BUSINESS PRINCIPLE, it means “Keep It Simple Stupid”. Quality website developers strive for this daily. They ask questions like:

What is the simplest way of achieving this goal?

            Can we shorten the number of steps?

            What percentage of users will use this function?

            Does this really need to be there?

            Are we valuing the time of visitors to our site?

            Is what we are creating user-friendly and intuitive for the average windows user?

            “Just because you can do a thing… does not mean you should do a thing!”

My book:

Ms. Creant: The Wrong Doers!

Life with Women: The Long-Awaited Instruction Manual

…talks of relationships, health, life, biology, philosophy, sociology, theology- even physics as well as the all important need to KEEP A CLEAR HEAD IN ORDER TO MAKE GOOD CHOICES.

The BRAIN DEAD CODE WRITING DORKS that I know ALL smoke pot.

This explains a great deal of what I have encountered in social media sites thus far.

Let’s hope that a week or so from now, Twitter will do better.

E.A.

Published by

E. A. Barker

About the Author E. A. Barker is an under-achieving, occasionally brilliant, man-child now in mid-life who can get into High IQ sperm-banks the world over. He is a keen observational analyst, satirist, humorist, and researcher. He lacks doctorates in psychiatry, psychology, psychotherapy, medicine, genetics, theology, political science, sociology and physics and is completely okay with this; yet he is willing to challenge these experts to wake up and do better. E. A. believes he is an average guy in mid-life who has led a mostly average life. His readers may not agree with his assessment. The single biggest difference between him and most other people is his relentless pursuit of knowledge. Throughout his life he never stopped asking the simplest question: Why? E. A. thinks of himself as a collector of ideas and a purveyor of dot connections. He attempts to present his findings in an entertaining fashion in an effort to encourage people to read—especially men who are reading far too little these days. E. A. Barker is an advocate of education for its ability to affect societal reform and actively promotes the idea that a global conscience is possible.

Leave a Reply

